One of my early photography professors Joe Gonda was, I believe, from Czechoslovakia.  He had a pretty thick accent as well as a very interesting way of looking at the world.  Not sure what he did there but one of his positions before coming to teaching was with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.  An amazing guy and a great teacher.  One day he was critiquing one of my photo assignments and said "it looks like organized disorder."  He went on to say that there were too many "things" in the picture. . . but that everything was "composed nicely."

Three or so weeks into the MALT program, and only one synchronous session under my belt and that's the way I feel right now.  Organized disorder.  There are, it feels like, too many "things" coming at me (us?) at once.  A myriad of tools, websites, assignments, elements and other things to keep straight and not lose track of.   And really. . .  it's not even begun!

I tallied only the websites used so far in class and came up with the following list:
  1. Wavenet
  2. Sakai Cog Tools
  3. Sakai Action Research
  4. Sakai Learning Design
  5. Center for Collaborative Action Research
  6. MindMaps
  7. Weebly
  8. Weebly blog
  9. Weebly gaming blog:
  10. Pepperdine Gmail
  11. Personal Gmail
  12. Google+
  13. Edmodo
  14. And quite a few that I didn't list.

Now, I'm not complaining.  Not one bit.  I recognize that a Master's program of this sort, in this age, MUST make use of all the tools and resources possible.  I'm just a wee bit confused is all.  I have a suspis




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am currently a Masters candidate in the Learning Technologies (MALT) program at Pepperdine University.  I have worked with Kaplan Higher Education since 2003 and strongly believe in education for underserved populations.  I have a strong interest in photography and a brief gallery of my work is published herein.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013

    Categories

    All