Picture
With pretty high hopes yesterday I gathered my video gear and headed off to a tennis lesson for one of my grandkids.  "Here's my chance," I thought "to get some great video of a CoP in action."  I did shoot some video but after an hour or so of waiting for some "action" I recognized that what I was seeing really wasn't  a community of practice.  What I was seeing could more be described as a traditional classroom, albeit with tennis racquets.  The teacher would gather the students and give them a task.  They would then move apart and madly bounce the tennis balls on the floor, or up in the air, or at a target.  There was one teacher and seven or eight students.  There was almost no interaction between the students and they barely uttered a word or even looked at what their peers were doing.  So, my hopes dashed, I returned home and resumed my search for a true CoP.  It was pretty cute and funny watching these seven-year-olds running around chasing tennis balls. . . . and I did discover what wasn't really a community of practice. 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Right up front. . . I am not a gamer.  I do enjoy the occasional potty game but you won't find me for 12 hours at a stretch plunked down in front of my TV battling aliens in Mortal Combat (see what I mean?)

    This blog is part of a Learning Design course at Pepperdine University

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All