Here's the thing.  I've never been much one for sports.  Even growing up I shied away from all kinds of physical sports.. . . even cards and board games were not my thing.  Perhaps I am anti-competitive. . . I don't know.  Though I do love doing something at work that makes me or my team look good or improve operations. . . Isn't that competitive?

Finally. . . FINALLY I got some pleasure from a video game. . . YES. . . ME!!!  The other night I, and my cadre mates had some good hard fun playing League of Legends.  Now. . .  I have tried for the past two nights and no one will play with me!  *whine*  It's kind of lonely  . .. really.  To find something that I enjoy. . . something I never thought I would, and now I can't play.  I would never think of getting into the "public" area to play, even labeled as a neophyte I know (or I fear) that others would be better than I and laugh.  I prefer to play amongst the safety of my known, friendly, forgiving, and nurturing cadre mates rather than that whole outside and dangerous world.

So, what am I learning?  I think that games can be great learning tools. . .  BUT. . .  is it possible that they might alienate a certain proportion of the population?



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Right up front. . . I am not a gamer.  I do enjoy the occasional potty game but you won't find me for 12 hours at a stretch plunked down in front of my TV battling aliens in Mortal Combat (see what I mean?)

    This blog is part of a Learning Design course at Pepperdine University

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All