I'm not a math person.  Never have been.  I remember all through school feeling intimidated in classes because I didn't understand it.  A lot of it just didn't make sense in elementary- and high-school.  Lately though I have been playing an electronic version of Sudoku.  I have played this game before but always in a non-e format.  You know the games in the back of the Southwest and other airline magazines?  Even then, the numbers gave me some grief.  I would never have a pencil so I ended up using a pen. . . with much scribbling out of errors and so forth (apologies to all those who flew after I did and tried to play the game.)

Then I found the potty game Sudoku.  First, no pens are involved.  Second, the game makes me feel "OK" with numbers for maybe the first time. . . The e-version of Sudoku is cleverly designed with little hints and guides to help newcomers quickly solve the easier levels of the game.  

I am sure all of you know how to play Sudoku but just in case. . . no number may exist more than once in each quadrant ("ninth-rant?") or in each line vertically or horizontally.  Easy to explain. . . more difficult to play.  
Picture
Have a look at the screenshot to the left.  In the middle block of nine on the left column (the block with the red rectangle around it) where does the 7 belong? . . Without the little green square "hints" it might be difficult to find . . . but with the hints it's a whole different story - an.  The second image shows, with the constraints above, the only possible place to put the 7.

Picture
In this image it's easy to see why the 7 must be placed where I have it.  Now for the rest of the empty squares. .. .   

The above is just one of the methods that this version of Sudoku provides to make the game less threatening to non-mathies.  There are other hints, tools and levels to not only make the play non-threatening but also to allow one to gradually work up to more difficult levels.

OK. . . so here's the thing.  This is NOT a math game, right?  No, it isn't.  But my early experience with math made working with numbers in any form a trial to be avoided at any cost.  The thing about this game is that it made me feel like I COULD work with numbers and be successful.  I never really enjoyed the paper Sudoku but I do enjoy, and am getting better at, the e-version . . . . and I find I am playing it at every "potty opportunity"



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Right up front. . . I am not a gamer.  I do enjoy the occasional potty game but you won't find me for 12 hours at a stretch plunked down in front of my TV battling aliens in Mortal Combat (see what I mean?)

    This blog is part of a Learning Design course at Pepperdine University

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All