Picture
OK. . . just because I can I am going to share my Maker side as it manifested itself later in life.  in 1988 I built a houseboat on a surplus US Navy Landing Craft.  You've seen the old WWII movies with the boat that pushes up on the beach and the front door comes down and all these military guys come out? That's the landing craft I built a houseboat on.  It's still floating around Santa Barbara somewhere.  Between 1998 and 2000 I built a self-contained computer training classroom inside a semi-trailer.  Yup.  Heated, air conditioned, with a 25 kilowatt generator, complete ethernet network, servers, the whole works.  When I started building it, computer classrooms were not easily available, nor inexpensive to rent.  By the time I finished it, a laptop could be had for less than $1000.  I never did get to use it for computer training.  Still have it if you're interested in a 28 foot semi-trailer - cheap  

The point is. . .  that I am a Maker (caps intended).  I have never really thought of myself as such. . .  but that was before I started reading Invent to Learn by Martinez and Stager.  I have always been so.  As long as I can remember.  The thing is that I never associated my passion with building with learning.  I do now.  







Leave a Reply.