Picture
I really did, I hated high school.  Looking back, I think it's because, as Papert said, I had to stop learning and accept being taught.  I remember countless hours of sitting in class, bored and not learning.  I know my teachers did their best, well. . .  most of them did, but I just don't think they were equipped to manage every learning style.  They seemed to be fine with those students who were interested and wanted to learn.  I just wanted to get back home to, what I now know was, my MakerSpace.  I remember my imagination being a fluid thing, dreaming up all sorts of interesting things to keep my body and brain active.  This was something that school, particularly high school failed to do.  It failed to motivate me to be hungry for the knowledge like I now see is possible from reading Invent to Learn.  I wonder where I might be now if I had had the opportunity to go to high school every day and be curious, inquisitive, and building - rather than sitting and learning.




Leave a Reply.