I have always been a big fan of black and white photography and I have owned numerous film cameras in my life from which I believe I could produce pretty good results.  However, I have yet to find a decent app for shooting black and white images on my iPhone or iPad.  I can’t tell you how many times I have been out and spotted a scene that I thought would make a great black and white image.  I almost always have my iPhone with me but rarely carry my other camera, a Sony NEX5 which is much more suitable for black and white.

During my associates degree I learned about the Ansel Adams Zone System for black and white photography.  The premise behind the zone system is that each grey scale value in a photograph should fall into one of 11 categories.  Zone 0 is pure black with no detail. Zone 10 is pure white with no detail.  Caucasian skin tone normally falls in zone 6 (see diagram below).  I would like to create an app for my iPhone and iPad that uses a Zone System interface for black and white photography.
This app would allow a user to choose a particular section of a photo (similar to a spot meter) and lock it to one of the zones in the above diagram.  For example, in the following image a user might choose an area of the screen such as the deep shadow of the mountain on the left side of the screen and lock that luminescence value to zone 3.  The user could then adjust the brightness and contrast in the image to achieve the full range (if necessary) of the zones in the image.  A picture could then be taken resulting in the best and most desired tonal quality in black and white on a digital device.



Leave a Reply.