OK. . . . new idea!  I've been working on the Cog Tools class Community of practice project.  At the same time, I am working through my Action Research project to improve online student retention through the use of technology . . . and I need an idea for this design class. . . . VOILA!  (or some other French adjectives).  One of my postulations for online retention is the necessity of a sense of community for online students and especially for those students who are economically disadvantaged.  Creating a sense of community will allow a student to build more of a sense of belonging in their online community and promote completion in their programs.  So. . .  in the true sense of three birds, one stone. . .  I am now thinking about creating some type of technological tool to support and promote communities of practice with online students.  Some type of CoP support tool.  Could be a website, an app of some sort or something else. . . . not sure yet.  More research needed!



Leave a Reply.